Originally Posted by Steve
With this title, I thought it might be about guns LOL.
How is your state as far as firearms go? What do you have to do to get a permit to carry?
Currently, no permit is required to own/carry a non-concealed handgun other than age (21) unless you have a criminal record.
South Carolina Carry/Conceal Pistol Permit
Eligibility: The applicant must:
1. be lawfully present in the United States;
2. not be a nonimmigrant alien;
3. not be prohibited by federal, state or local law from possessing firearms;
4. be a resident of South Carolina (residing permanently in SC or presently in SC with intent to become a permanent resident); a qualified non-resident who owns real property in South Carolina, but resides in another state; or military personnel in SC on permanent change of station orders;
5. be at least 21 years old;
6. have completed, within the last 3 years, a minimum 8-hour training course presented by a SLED-certified CWP instructor which must have covered the following topics: (a) statutory and case law of SC relating to handguns and use of deadly force; (b) handgun use and safety; (c) proper storage practices for handguns that reduce possibility of accidental injury to children; and (d) actual firing of the handgun in the presence of the instructor; ($175.00)and
7. have a favorable background.
8. Must be renewed annually (50.00).
I have had an NY State carry/conceal permit for over 35 years. It took about 6 months to get from start to finish. My NY permit is legal for life as long as I have no felonies. New NY permits are good only for 1 year and must be renewed annually (I think the cost is $250.00 per year).
I have a .40 caliber S&W Sigma LE and a Sig .40 caliber. I have a SC carry/conceal permit but do not carried concealed or otherwise . I have it “just in case” security issues warrant it (such as a terrorist situation).