Lawn Care Business Forum Lawn Care Business Book Lawn Care Business Blog Lawn Care Software
Home Forum Contract & Flyer Templates Blog Software Videos Podcast Calculators / Estimators Store Mower Review Design It Yourself Lawn Business School

Go Back   GopherHaul Landscaping & Lawn Care Business Marketing Forum > Gopher Software Support > Gopher Software Support Archived Question & Answers - Read Only

Gopher Software Support Archived Question & Answers - Read Only The support posts are read-only. To ask your Gopher tech support question please email us at support@gophersoftware.com

Multi User Envoriment?


Gopher Software Support Archived Question & Answers - Read Only

The support posts are read-only. To ask your Gopher tech support question please email us at support@gophersoftware.com
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-08-2005, 11:44 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Can Gopher be used in a setting where 2 or more people can be useing the same database at the same time?

If so do i just create a share set the correct file security tell all copy's of gopher to use \\server\gopher\databasefile?

Please let me know
brent.thumlert@ion-software.net
Reply With Quote

Stop guess-timating. Learn how to estimate and make money! $$$
Mow Time Estimator Lawn Care Price Estimator Mulch and Topsoil Calculator Snow Plow Estimate Calculator


  #2  
Old 02-09-2005, 11:35 AM
Gopher Tech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Lawn care business tipsLawn Care Business Book
Hi Brent Thumlert,

We sent you an email on this.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:04 PM
Yardman1 Yardman1 is offline
Gopher Affiliate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 13
Yardman1
Default

Send me an email on how to do it also, trying to network my laptop and destop together. Kwilliams1281@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:21 PM
Steve's Avatar
Steve Steve is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 37,928
Rep Power: 10
Steve has disabled reputation
Default

Hi Yardman1,

Gopher can be set up to handle that configuration. However, it was not designed to handle mulitple users entering data at the same time (e.g. you won't see much of the other user's data entry until your session or transaction restarts). It's ideal for a business owner who has two computers and mainly uses one at a time for data entry. To access the data on another computer you must have a Gopher shortcut on your
desktop whose target looks like this:

program_path local_fullpath_to_filename_on_server server_ip_address

for example:
"C:\Program Files\Ditech\Gopher 2003\Gopher2003.exe" "C:\Program Files\Ditech\Gopher
2003\Gopher2003.gdb" 192.168.0.44

Remember though, if you are trying to network your desktop and laptop with your data residing on your desktop, when you take your laptop off the network you will have no data on your laptop and you will get an error.
__________________
- Subscribe to my Lawn Care Marketing Blog Feed and get daily tips sent to you. Free!
Download your Free trial of Gopher Lawn Care Software.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:30 PM
Yardman1 Yardman1 is offline
Gopher Affiliate
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 31
Rep Power: 13
Yardman1
Default

Is there anyway that you can have it on both computers with a network and not loose you data, and keep them both updated. If that made any sense.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2005, 03:34 PM
Steve's Avatar
Steve Steve is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 37,928
Rep Power: 10
Steve has disabled reputation
Default

Hi Yardman1,

If they are always going to be on the network then the above information will be fine. If you are going to plug into a network and then unplug from a network you might be better off just backing up the data from one and restoring it to the other.
__________________
- Subscribe to my Lawn Care Marketing Blog Feed and get daily tips sent to you. Free!
Download your Free trial of Gopher Lawn Care Software.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-2006, 12:52 PM
cuacua3 cuacua3 is offline
Members
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Rep Power: 11
cuacua3
Default

Hello tech support,

Here is what I want to do, I just got a laptop (notebook) I already have gopher 2004 on our desk top and I was wanting to primarly use the laptop (notebook) for business, not sure if it will be easier or not. I do I transfer Gopher 2004 to my notebook (laptop) with out loosing everything. I do have the computers networked using a router. But in chance that I ever do get a vacation I will have to bring the schedule along with me.

Thanks in advance,
Jennifer Hernandez
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-2006, 12:59 PM
Gopher Tech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi cuacua3 ,

Please review this Frequently Asked Questions page.

There are a bunch of posts on how to transfer your data.

If this doesn't help and you are still stuck. Let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:45 PM
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hello,

I still do can't find the way to network them. I was wondering if It might be easier if I took everything from desktop and transfered it to my laptop. Could you send me instructions on both.

Thanks again,

Cuacua3
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-2006, 02:51 PM
Gopher Tech
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Cuacua3,

If you want to transfer your data from one computer to the other, my previous post will help you back up your data and then restore it to the new computer.

If you want to network Gopher, the instructions are above in the post to Yardman1.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

» Recent Threads
  RatingTitle, Username, & Date Last Post Replies Views
Did this job free to...
JJand M Lawncare
05-02-2016 02:33 PM
Today 10:07 AM
by Steve
4 79
Correct way to quote a...
WarriorLandscapingCAN
05-02-2016 11:52 AM
05-03-2016 10:59 AM
by Steve
1 56
How to tell Cust. to...
GeeGood
04-09-2008 09:55 PM
05-02-2016 02:45 PM
by JJand M Lawncare
13 5,227
Having an issue with...
Mr. Mow
04-27-2016 03:58 PM
04-28-2016 05:04 AM
by Sprinkler Buddy
2 127
Hello From Virginia
JJand M Lawncare
04-25-2016 01:02 PM
04-27-2016 05:20 PM
by Steve
5 160
knowledge is Key
Greg'slawnandlandscape
04-23-2016 02:23 AM
04-25-2016 02:40 PM
by Steve
2 147
Hello from Calgary
Freshcut
04-22-2016 06:10 PM
04-25-2016 02:38 PM
by Steve
1 134
Echo Bed Redefiner...
NPM_LLC
04-12-2016 10:54 AM
04-22-2016 06:15 PM
by Freshcut
4 335
Has anyone done a garden?
Brian3137
03-28-2016 10:42 AM
04-22-2016 04:42 PM
by biglee
13 9,784
What would you charge?
markty
04-18-2016 03:28 PM
04-22-2016 09:01 AM
by chris2500hd
6 320
Replaced Mower Engine
Sprinkler Buddy
04-15-2016 06:21 AM
04-19-2016 11:03 AM
by Sprinkler Buddy
6 274
Hello from Oklahoma
Ron Hall
03-24-2016 06:59 PM
04-16-2016 03:51 AM
by Ron Hall
9 9,484
Laying down some stripes
MATTNAPIER89
04-11-2016 09:55 PM
04-14-2016 11:55 PM
by Steve
3 359
Find out what business...
MATTNAPIER89
04-11-2016 09:58 PM
04-13-2016 12:32 PM
by MATTNAPIER89
2 302
Hello my name is Matt
MATTNAPIER89
04-11-2016 09:46 PM
04-13-2016 12:58 AM
by Steve
1 258
How to drop some...
nickeckes
04-11-2016 01:07 AM
04-12-2016 05:22 PM
by Steve
4 332
Trash Receptacle for a...
tannerduncan
04-12-2016 05:02 PM
04-12-2016 05:19 PM
by Steve
1 237
Small Project Lawn
tannerduncan
03-31-2016 08:21 PM
04-12-2016 05:16 PM
by Steve
7 9,362
Please Help! Bidding...
Dorali
02-15-2016 12:02 PM
04-06-2016 01:08 AM
by Steve
36 13,101
Hello
pbcleff
04-05-2016 07:45 PM
04-06-2016 12:35 AM
by Steve
1 429
Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.1.0

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


(C) 2011 Riggs Publications - Terms of use & Privacy Policy

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.

(C) 2011 Riggs Publications - Terms of use & Privacy Policy