personal pace wont start

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• personal pace wont start

I found a lady throwing this mower away. She said it was overheating when running but I havent been able to get it to start. I changed the plug, cleaned the carb, drained the gas, cleaned the air filter, and managed to break the pull cord.

Theres been times when it runs for 3 seconds and dies. Sounds good in those 3 seconds. I also got it to start and move about ten feet with the throttle pushed all the way in twice. It died when I tried to slow down. Now its back to not wanting to start for even a few seconds. it almost seems like a safety killing it.

model # 20018 22" recycler
    Attached Files

I think I would check the carb again .

Comment

I would check the oil and compression.... make sure it is worth the effort to go any further.
      I am the owner of www.AllOutdoorParts.com an online mower parts distributor. I am also a Briggs Master Service Technician and Expert Certified Mechanic for Kohler. If my posts helps you please like my facebook page at www.facebook.com/alloutdoorparts

Comment

I would check the oil and compression.... make sure it is worth the effort to go any further.
        I checked that first. Oil is a tad high and clean, compression is good. Charged the battery over night and the electric starter does work, doesnt start still. I double checked spark today and had none. So I disconnected the safety wire that goes to the coil and still had no spark. Ordered a new coil. I think that will fix it. If it does $27 for a fairly new self propelled.

Comment

I double checked spark today and had none. So I disconnected the safety wire that goes to the coil and still had no spark. Ordered a new coil. I think that will fix it.
          Keep us posted on this, it will be interesting to hear if the coil went out.

I do wonder why it would run a little and then go out and then the coil stopped working.