Am I in over my head?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I in over my head?

Perhaps the simple answer is if I have to ask... I am! I am just getting started in this, trying to raise some extra money and buy equipment as I go. I have a 22" Craftsman Lawn Mower, A Craftsman trimmer and a blower. I was hoping that during my first season I would get a couple clients in average middle income houses and mow and learn the ropes.

I mowed my first customers lawn last Friday and it all went well. Well, kinda. Went well for him. I bid too low. For a weekly mow I priced him I feel fair at $30 for a .21 acre lot which has a house, garage and Very large overgrown pine tree out front. Its actually a pretty small lot. I spent way too much time on it. Better than 2 hours, because it had not been mowed in a while. Had to trim darn near the whole thing first then mow twice. I wrote it off to a learning experience. Double or tripple for overgrown lots to get them in shape. (correct me if I'm wrong). Anyway the customer was happy and signed a contract for the remainder of the season.

So here is where I may be over my head. Today I received a call from a gentleman who wants me to come out and look at his yard. Needs mowing and some bed work. I pulled his info up on the county auditors website (hoping to get an idea on the lot and stuff before I drove out there tommorow) The average price for home sales in licking county, (where this house is) was 138,000. His house is $561,000. OMG.

So now here I am little old me still learning what the heck I'm doing and I now have a monster that could make or break me. Should I back off? Should I run for the hills?

He told me it takes him about an hour to mow it with his push mower. But what about the bed work?

I need advice.

Ben
    Gotta Mow or Gotta Run Lawn Maintenance
    Ben Belhorn
    Gotta Mow Lawn Maintenance