How much to charge for new bed installs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How much to charge for new bed installs

I got a call to make a new bed running from the front porch to halfway down the side of the house. To include some shrubbery and plants. Im not to concerned about the plants and shrubs, what would you charge to make the bed from scratch not including he planting. 40 ft X 5 ft with a rounded curve around the corner of the house going out a couple more feet. Thanks
    http://www.lunchesruslawncare.com

I'm not an expert on this, but I feel bad seeing you haven't gotten any replies yet.

So here's how I understand it: currently, there is grass, and the person wants the grass removed, and a garden/plant bed in place of that area (200sq. ft.)?

Here are the steps that I can think of: 1) Removing all of the grass. This could be a challenge, or fairly easily. Some grasses you can just cut in a line and roll them up like sod almost. It grows so thick, that the roots just all come up at once. Other grasses are not so easily. Each cluster of grass, 2in x 2in section, has its own root clump. This would be a pain to pull out over a thousand of these.

2) Till or otherwise freshen the area. You could skip step 1, and just till the grass, but then you have blades of grass mixed up in the soil and I personally think that looks like junk, and not very professional. I do not recommend skipping step 1 because you want to remove as much material as possible. For that professional bed edged look, the bed has to be a bit lower than the rest of the yard for that dramatic looking edge edge. And, in step 3, you should add top soil anyway. Adding water to the soil makes tilling much easier.