Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Commercial mower advantage or necessary??

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Commercial mower advantage or necessary??

Hey guys, I've been doing lawns on the side for several years and doing pretty good! Trying to justify if a commercial grade zero turn is gonna benefit me? I have about 18 customers, currently using a Toro Timecutter SS4235 42" cut, Honda pushmower and Stihl weedeaters. Id like to keep the Toro 42" to fit in smaller gates but feel I could benefit by having a larger zero turn as well, like a 48" or 50". I would need to carry both so that means a bigger trailer but at least I could have both mowers at my disposable depending on the yard size? Any advice?

Commercial grade mowers are made to last longer than consumer grade. Check out for instance the mowing deck on a commercial mower and you will notice it's not made of a stamped piece of sheet metal. The engines are built to last longer as well.

The question you have to consider is, with 18 customers, how many of them are going to be needing the use of the larger mower? Will the time saved by using the larger commercial mower help you make more money in the long haul? If so, how long will it take to make that money back?

Do you plan on growing your business larger and you need a commercial grade mower to last you for years of usage? Or do you plan on keeping this as a side business and maybe you could be fine with a consumer grade model?

What are your thoughts on that?

- Subscribe to my Lawn Care Marketing Blog Feed and get daily tips sent to you. Free!
    Download your Free trial of Gopher Lawn Care Software.

Comment