Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am I doing ANYTHING right?

Hey Guys.

I have been plowing snow for about 10 years now and have always had customers asking if I did lawn service, I told them no and I usually referred them to a friend. Recently I moved to the other side of the state that I live in, it's about 15-20 min to the local towns. That being said I decided to start my own landscaping company. I want to be legit so I went and did all that LLC stuff, got GL insurance and vehicle insurance, tax id's bla bla bla. I set some money aside from my loan to uncle sam to buy the equipment. Unfortunately i do not have enough money to buy a commercial lawn mower. If I wouldn't have bought a new mower last spring i probably would have. It is a 26hp craftsman with a 54' deck. I know its not perfect but its what i have. I went out and bought a new Husq weed wacker and backpack blower. I also bought a roller, sweeper (had it), aerator (had it) and fertilizer spreader (had it) along with various lawn tools. Rakes shovels etc, and a new push mower
    I know ppl say not to but i took out a loan just to ease the financial burden on my family. I used this money for marketing supplies and insurance.
    I bought
    flyers
    biz cards
    brochures
    hats
    shirts (to wear while mowing)
    and magnets for the side of my truck
    I am in the process of having a logo made and will use that to letter my truck.
    I also have about 3k left from my loan. I REALLY want to put it into the "rainy day fund" as a CYA thing for breakdowns etc. OR should i use it for a used commercial mower.

Sorry this kind of rambled.... any thoughts and advise would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Joe

It sounds like you are taking a lot of positive steps forwards. What do you feel most stressed out about with all this?
    - Subscribe to my Lawn Care Marketing Blog Feed and get daily tips sent to you. Free!
    Download your Free trial of Gopher Lawn Care Software.