Single Service?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Single Service?

Do any of you just offer mow, trim, edge & blow without offering any other services? While I realize I will be leaving a lot of money on the table I have a master plan. I'm blessed so I don't have to worry about bringing in money to eat with so I'm not worried about bringing in a little extra for that flower bed cleanup, I'm interested in my 20 year plan. Just wondering if anyone else only offers mowing? Thanks

I don't and I'm sure a lot of guys here don't either.

For anyone starting out, I would suggest focusing on only mowing until your ready to grow. You won't overwhelm yourself and scheduling will be easier for you.

Those "other jobs" are the ones that bring in the good $$$, but they are never consistent. So mowing and doing other jobs work hand in hand.

Comment

I think most would say you have it backwards the little extra is mowing. The bigger the job the bigger the money and mowing is very small with high overhead.

Comment

I think most would say you have it backwards the little extra is mowing. The bigger the job the bigger the money and mowing is very small with high overhead.
        I see what your saying. I think I should clarify more.

Where I live (in MD), you can't do hardscapes without a MHIC (Maryland Home Improvement Contractor) license. They clarify it by any permenant structure must have a MHIC license. Sod, to them, counts as permenant, so you can't even install that, the same as putting in new gardens. So there goes your landscape design work. For tree removal, you have to be a licensed tree expert. There is a TON of BS to get that license. And for fertilizers, well, pay some money and take a test.

So smaller jobs would be weeding flower beds, aerations, leaf removal, etc. These bigger $10K hardscape projects....well.....you can forget those unless your a licened contractor.