Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need something on the suburban...

Hello All,
    I am just starting out and I am having very little luck with craigslist. So I am thinking about doing something with the truck. I have a question about Magnets vs lettering on a truck.
    I only have one vehicle and I read somewhere that the IRS likes to have lettering instead of mag? And what if I used it for personal use? Could the IRS deny any expenses if I had it permanently on there and using it to haul the kids around? I mean, you could tell them that your just advertising while driving.
    Also, where is the best place (cost) to order lettering online? Some of the prices I have been quoted have been anywhere from 10 a sq to 50 a sq. Seems a little spendy for a piece of vinyl.
    Thanks..

You are allowed to deduct a % of your vehicle if it's also used for personal reasons. Same with cell phone, wifi at the house, gas, insurance etc.

For vinyl, go to a local sign shop or one of those places in the mall. Super cheap and tons of options.

Comment

I use magnets because like you, I use my truck for both business and personal use. Depending on where you're located, if you get vinyl you may have to get commercial plates.

I agree with the above post about using a local shop. Those online ordering places tend to use REALLY cheap vinyl, and you'll have a difficult time returning them if something goes wrong or you don't like them.

Comment

I use magnets because like you, I use my truck for both business and personal use. Depending on where you're located, if you get vinyl you may have to get commercial plates.

I agree with the above post about using a local shop. Those online ordering places tend to use REALLY cheap vinyl, and you'll have a difficult time returning them if something goes wrong or you don't like them.