PDA

View Full Version : Rider or Walk Behind?

ffduffy24
07-08-2009, 10:11 PM
Hi,

I'm a new solo operator. Have about 12 accounts currently in my first season. I still work full time as a firefighter. I just do lawns on my day off. I'm starting to get to the point where I'm thinking about getting something bigger than my 21" self propelled mower so that I can trim some time off of my larger lawns. I've never used a riding lawn mower or a walk behind. I was wondering which one everyone thought I should lean towards. A rider or walk behind?

Have mostly residential accounts, some with fences and some without. I just thought in the long run I'll need something bigger anyway. What type of mower should I get?

picframer
07-09-2009, 05:48 AM
Based on what you wrote I would probably get a garden tractor as it allows you to pull a pile of attachments and offer other services, use it for snow removal etc. I use the X500 series from John Deere, simply amazing tractors with excellent cut quality.

If you are only mowing, consider a small ZTR, perhaps something with a 48 or 54" Deck, they are in my experience 20 to 30% faster than a tractor and you can spin on the fly.

As for brand, there are many, service is critical to me so I opt for John Deere, selection in my city ic Very limited also.

Steve
07-09-2009, 07:19 AM
Hi ffduffy24,

Welcome to our forum!

What kinds of things have you been doing to market your business so far? Do you promote that you are a fire fighter in your marketing?

ffduffy24
07-10-2009, 01:06 PM
I've only used flyers. I do mention briefly in my flyer that I am a firefighter. Also, I put a price on their flyer. Seems to work o.k. I basically have 4 different price points on my flyers and I carry them in a seperated holder and look at the size of the lawn as I'm approaching the house and bid it right then and there. Recently I've ordered car door magnets for my truck from Vista print. So we'll see how those work.

Steve
07-11-2009, 09:41 AM