PDA

View Full Version : New Member of the clan

rblethen
07-08-2009, 04:55 PM
Hello, new member here. I have been unemployed for awhile so I decided to start cutting lawns. I like being outside and I don't mind breaking a sweat, I bought a Great Dane surfer 48" used, it has taken up some of my time doing some maintainence that hasn't been done in awhile. I don't have too many jobs yet, I am plugging along though.

arthur712
07-08-2009, 06:54 PM
Welcome to the forum!

Steve
07-09-2009, 08:29 AM
Hi rblethen,

Welcome to our forum!

What kind of work did you do previously?

What are you doing now to market your new business?

rblethen
07-10-2009, 06:59 AM
Thanks for the welcome, I am a truckdriver by trade, I owned my own truck and trailer for about twenty years. I took care of most of my own maintainence, The lawn mower parts are easier to handle, I am in the process of making my used Great Dane stander better than new, well new enough to take care of my few accounts.

My wife found this site, she and I are in this together, she has a steady job, I wanted to be home more often and this seemed like the business to be in. I have always taken care of my own lawn and a few others, At my ex-wifes house previous to her being the ex, I had planted
a hedge row, and about 50 Leland Cypress trees, a few fruit trees and some Blue spruce. Not to mention the 100 by 60 vegetable garden with an asparagus bed.

I worked on a farm growing up, I am interseted in grass recycling and using organic fertilizers, I have never bagged my own grass i have always lft the clippings on the lawn, It is a waste of money and time to bag clippings not to mention a waste of nitrogen and other nutrients.