PDA

View Full Version : My typical day...

doug1980
06-23-2009, 03:27 PM
Well as you may know this is my first year doing this. I have aquired 10 yards so far. All are on the Base where I live and work at my full time job. I work from 8-5 m-f and do lawns in the evening. So my day starts with going to work with my equipment in the truck. After work I mow 2 yards each day and since they are on my way home travel is not an issue. Each yard is $40.00 so that is $400.00/week gross. After expenses, which isn't much at all, I make about $1,200.00/month. Best part time job I ever had. I figure if I could get 10 more yards I could buy all the equipment I will need for next year. But with only 3 more months left in the season I doubt it.

Steve
06-23-2009, 07:34 PM
That is fantastic! You are doing great!

As you go with your business are you envisioning more bigger and greater plans?

doug1980
06-23-2009, 09:32 PM
That is fantastic! You are doing great!

As you go with your business are you envisioning more bigger and greater plans?

Always...:D I want to keep it small until 2011 since I will be leaving AK then. Not sure where we are headed after here so I can't plan too much ahead. It could be FL or TX or might be St. Louis. My main goal for now is to make some money and slowly upgrade equipment. Get a trailer 36" WB, 48" ZTR and go from there. I would like to get 50-60 clients and go full time with this then add in pesticides (it's what I know) then maybe have 1 mowing crew and I will do the fert and stuff. My wife wants a nursery so that is in our 10 year plan as well. But then again, it could all be dreams too. Only time will tell.

Steve
06-23-2009, 10:12 PM
Well if you don't have a plan you can't get there. The fact that you do have a plan is great! It gives you a goal to shoot for. Step by step you are achieving it.

jds2381
06-23-2009, 11:14 PM