PDA

View Full Version : New Guy

dunn farms
04-29-2009, 12:11 PM
Hey Everyone

I am hoping to get a snow plowing business off the ground. I am new to snow plowing so I could use all the help I can get.

I look forward to seeing how everyone got there business going.

Steve
04-29-2009, 08:38 PM
Hi Dunn,

Welcome to our forum! Are you running any other businesses or are you focused solely on starting a snow plowing business?

dunn farms
04-29-2009, 09:46 PM
Hey Steve I am focusing on snow removal right now. I plowed some last winter, but did it as a sub. I would really like to do it for myself.

Nick

Steve
04-29-2009, 09:55 PM
Well here is my thought. If you can offer other services, you can hold those customers all year long especially if they are residential customers.

It makes it easier if you offer a full year's worth of property maintenance and include snow removal.

Are you focused on residential or commercial customers?

dunn farms
04-29-2009, 10:08 PM
What would you recommend? I would like to focus more on commercial, but I have not dismissed the idea of residential. The area that I live in is flooded with lawn care and landscapeing companies. I am affraid to invest a lot of money into lawn care if all the business is already absorbed.

Steve
04-29-2009, 10:17 PM
I plowed some last winter, but did it as a sub. I would really like to do it for myself.

What did you like or dislike about plowing as a sub? What made you want to do it for yourself?

dunn farms
04-29-2009, 10:30 PM
I didn't really dislike, I guess. I would just like to work for myself. Not to mention I can make more money plowing for myself. What is your opinion on being a sub or getting your own contracts? This is all new to me so any advice is very much appriciated. Also, do you have any recommendations on other year long services besides lawn care. I have thought about lawn care, but like I said it is a flooded market.

Steve
04-29-2009, 10:39 PM
These are all great topics we are discussing.