PDA

View Full Version : 14% unemployement rate

lukus223
04-20-2009, 04:01 PM
Hello All. I live in oregon and we currently have the 2nd highest unemployment rate in the nation (just a tad behind Michigan). In my county our unemployment rate is almost 14%. This is my first year looking to start part time. I've landed a few jobs, but all by 1 have come from family or friends of family. All of my marketing has fallen flat. Over 1,000 door hangers and only 1 call. Advertising in the paper, not a call yet. Updating my craigslist add every 2 days, no calls. I'm starting to feel like my market is just too over saturated. I have a normal 8-5 job and see at least 1 or 2 LCOs on the road every day. Sometimes up to 5 or 6 (this is only a 7 mile drive). What's happening in your areas? I'm considering direct mail or google as my next advertising campaign, but am starting to feel like I am pissing my money away.

Steve
04-20-2009, 04:15 PM
Well, you can expanding your marketing message or you can also experiment with your services offered. When you talk to your different family and friends are they telling you what their view is on paying for lawn care at the moment? Are they cutting their own lawns more often?

Have you thought about offering other services that many homeowners can't or won't do? Are there things your friends and family are saying they need help with?

lukus223
04-20-2009, 05:07 PM
Well, you can expanding your marketing message or you can also experiment with your services offered. When you talk to your different family and friends are they telling you what their view is on paying for lawn care at the moment? Are they cutting their own lawns more often?

Have you thought about offering other services that many homeowners can't or won't do? Are there things your friends and family are saying they need help with?