PDA

View Full Version : Walt Disney

Steve
04-17-2009, 08:32 PM
I am reading a book that references a quote from Walt Disney.

The quote is "I don't make pictures to just make money. I make money to make more pictures."

What do you think of that quote?

Is that something we should all strive for?

Should we strive to do what we do not just to make money but to be able to do more of what we do?

musician/lawnman
04-17-2009, 09:00 PM
I would say, No matter how you try to pull that off.... In our industry, If you said to a customer "I don;t mow lawns just to make money, I make money so I can mow more lawns...." They just aren't going to buy that. Let's face it, alot of us like yard work & maybe even really enjoyed it when it was just our lawn at home. But there are few if any that just whole heartedly LOVE going out & mowing 15-20+ lawns a day, then dealing with maintenence, then paperwork, then bed..... repeat....
I do enjoy my work, but It's not like I'm a surgeon that I could say "I just love helping people!" or even as a musician I could maybe say "I do it for love of the music" Nobody can realistically say "I mow lawns for love of the grass" & sound believable.

swstout
04-17-2009, 09:05 PM
I am reading a book that references a quote from Walt Disney.

The quote is "I don't make pictures to just make money. I make money to make more pictures."

What do you think of that quote?

Is that something we should all strive for?

Should we strive to do what we do not just to make money but to be able to do more of what we do?

Good question!

My Grandmother, who died at age 101, was quite the philosopher - always saying exactly what was on her mind! At her 50th wedding anniversary, we were talking about - what ekse - money. She said "Moner isn't everything, but it's way of whatever is in second place".