PDA

View Full Version : Blog posting

wdcutter
04-12-2009, 01:49 PM
What to write about? keep it content orientated with your site and area for sure.
The ideas for articles will become easier to do the more you do them (around 250+ words each) using your keywords.
The one thing I started today was a post on a spring clean up that I recently finished, that ended up being turned into a special project section on my site promoting my organic lawn care program, thanks to a customer, which will give me plenty to write about.
I am new to blogging also and it is taking some getting used to, but unlike our home decor site, which we can add new products to keep it fresh and active, our lawn care site will need to have something to do the same and I think the blog will serve this purpose.

Steve
04-12-2009, 04:11 PM
Oh that is fantastic!

How often do you try to write in your blog?

What do you find is your biggest inspiration for the article topics?

wdcutter
04-12-2009, 05:24 PM
Steve,
I try to write 2-3 posts or articles a week, but sometimes time doesn't permit, but am always jotting something on paper, so I'll have some typing for a rainy day.. I started out as Craig mentioned about google alerts, I still get them and check them out, but the ideas started flowing on their own as I would be out doing something, so I'll write sort of about my adventures in the lawn care business.

Steve
04-12-2009, 05:26 PM
Do you track where your new callers hear of you initially?

Have you noticed an uptick in calls that initially came from customers viewing your website?

Do you have any idea what % of them come from your website?

wdcutter
04-12-2009, 05:48 PM
I do track this, for the most part my traffic is from craigslist and word of mouth, the site is new and I haven't gotten any calls from there yet. It is still in its infancy stage. I installed a stat counter on the site to monitor visitors and such.

Steve
04-12-2009, 07:12 PM
That is great!