PDA

View Full Version : Just Starting

xulcuz
03-30-2009, 03:06 PM
I have come to this forum in search of advice and knowledge. I have decided that I want to start a lawn care business. I am a freshman in college and I have always loved mowing lawns and always thought it would make a great job. As the end of this school year approaches I decided that instead of working hard and getting nothing, I would work for my self and take in the money. I have mowed lawns for years. Through out high school I mowed three commercial buildings. Recently one asked me if this year I could mow another of their buildings. This is what sparked my idea.
I have all the tools, got a trailer, and I have a truck. For tools I have a Z-master, a weed wacker, a back pack blower and Im thinking Im going to invest in a gas edger. Is this reasonable? Also if I am just starting like this do I have to register as a business? Or could I wait till it expanded? Next I am in the process of designing flyers to hand out door to door. Any thing I should for sure include in those? Another thing I question is my ability to price things out? Any tips on that? Any other light you guys could shed on this would be great.
Thanks

picframer
03-30-2009, 03:47 PM
First off good luck, you will no doubt do well as you already have a lawn care customer base.

I too started this year full time, decided I had enough of the corporate world and lawn care/landscaping is something I love to do.

My son is a University student, we had all the equipment last year and he and two friends went at it and made a pile of bucks, it seems customers prefer hiring students to help them out, I have also read this elsewhere.

This summer I will focus on landscaping and excavation while my son and his two friends work on lawn care and tree cutting, they will do well.