PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about making that jump!

lawnsalonforyou
02-09-2009, 09:57 AM
Hi guys I need some more advice! I'm currently in my first year of owning my own lawn maintenance company. Business is coming in a pace I'm comfortable with, but there is just one problem...people want more than lawn maintenance. People want there flower beds done...and retaining walls to go with them...sod put down...and weed management! Most of which requires me to get my landscaping license.

I am confident in my ability...but do you guys think its a good idea? Should I get my landscaping license and be able to offer my clients a lot more instead of subing it out?? I welcome any and all advice guys!

Thanks again!!!;)

lawnsalonforyou
02-09-2009, 10:00 AM
P.S. I think the last message kind of left me wide open...Lawn Salon is legal and I do have my licenses for that...we pay taxes like we should! lol

Steve
02-09-2009, 11:41 AM
I'm currently in my first year of owning my own lawn maintenance company. Business is coming in a pace I'm comfortable with, but there is just one problem...people want more than lawn maintenance. People want there flower beds done...and retaining walls to go with them...sod put down...and weed management! Most of which requires me to get my landscaping license.

I am confident in my ability...but do you guys think its a good idea? Should I get my landscaping license and be able to offer my clients a lot more instead of subing it out??

I'd like to know what you ideally would like to do?

I see two sides to it. One side is, since you are new, stick with one thing now and get it up and running where you are comfortable with it. Work on developing your core competency. Focus on being as profitable as you can with what you do the best and sub out the rest. Then as you grow, you can later experiment with other projects.

On the other side, if you feel like experimenting, go for it. That is what business is all about.