PDA

View Full Version : New to the business!

KaToNaStIcK
01-30-2009, 09:54 PM
Hi everyone!
I am new to the business and just starting out. When I say "just starting out", I mean looking for my first walk-behind used (any ideas?). I've got an old beat up truck to work out of. I will update my profile in the coming days.
Our business is named "Desert Oasis Lawn Service" and is based just outside San Antonio, Texas. Our goal is to have two crews going by end-of-season to be fully loaded for the following, with all revenue going back into the business this year. Any and all advice is appreciated!

Special thanks to the guys here at Gopher for the wealth of information available here. What a great site!

Talk to ya soon!
Tim

Steve
01-31-2009, 01:25 AM
Hi Tim,

Welcome to our forum!

What got you interested in starting your own lawn care business?

Have you check out the lawn care equipment review section (http://www.gopherforum.com/uploaded-files/pages/rate-power-equipment.php) here?

What are you doing to market your business?

KaToNaStIcK
01-31-2009, 11:20 AM
Thanks Steve!
I have been in management for 20+ years, "slave to the job" so to speak. I was very successful until alcoholism caught up with and devoured me last summer. I didn't lose my employment, but lost my position and over half of my pay. (Thankfully, I am sober since July 4th last year and am happier/healthier than I can ever remember!) I have always wanted to run my own business, but just never had the time. The blessing of my current position is I work nights four days, then off four on a continual rotating basis. This allows me the time to start a business for the first time.

As part of my management responsibilities, I have overseen high-volume nurserys and it has always been my favorite department. I've always taken pride in having one of the nicest lawns in the neighborhood, even back in the day when the neighborhood competition we had was basically dirt!