PDA

View Full Version : New Business in Iowa

bradyalderin
12-05-2008, 02:30 PM
Hi I am totally new to all of this. I mowed lawns while i was younger and through high school in my neighborhood and can do just about anything there is. I was just recently laid off at a excavating business because people are not wanting to build new houses or buildings right now. I guess a few of my questions are as follows:

Due to low capital what is the minimum tools that I will need to buy just to start up? I am thinking of just doing residential and then moving up after awhile.

How do I go about pricing? When I was in high school most of the places I did were twice a week do they really need it that often? I understand the dollar a minute deal.

What are the best ways to go out there and get customers?

Thanks to everyone that helps!

Steve
12-05-2008, 03:40 PM
Hi I am totally new to all of this. I mowed lawns while i was younger and through high school in my neighborhood and can do just about anything there is. I was just recently laid off at a excavating business because people are not wanting to build new houses or buildings right now. I guess a few of my questions are as follows:

Welcome to our forum!

Due to low capital what is the minimum tools that I will need to buy just to start up? I am thinking of just doing residential and then moving up after awhile.

The minimum is just to be able to push a mower. You can use your customers mower to get started. Thats how low the real minimum can be. Otherwise, why not just use your own lawn mower to start and get your feet wet with this and then scale up.

How do I go about pricing? When I was in high school most of the places I did were twice a week do they really need it that often? I understand the dollar a minute deal.

Why not call for a few price quotes for your yard and see what the average is in your area. If you can get $60 an hour, that is fantastic!

What are the best ways to go out there and get customers?