PDA

View Full Version : Everyone please read and give feedback

mhoward92
11-02-2008, 12:50 PM
Hello everyone! I'm Mitch Howard, I'm new to the forum and am looking forward to all the help. Here is my deal:

I can't really say I'm new to the business, well...I'm 17...the thing is I have been doing this since i was 11. But the other day for some reason (after 6 years of doing this) I decided that I should consider starting up a Business. I used to live in Florida were this kind of business is very popular. Now I'm living in Northern Michigan. It's a bit of a bummer since our cold season overtakes the warm season.

I'm thinking of combining a little bit of everything into the business
snow removal
mowing
leaf removal
spring cleanup (dead grass raking)

you know anything that people don't want to do. The plus of living here is There are many Elderly people with loot to spend on this. I have pretty much everything since i have been doing this for a while. My concern is that business will slow so much in the winter season. I already have 3 people that prepaid me very well to upkeep their properties while they leave for florida for the season. My goal Is to get that in more of a mass quantity since many of the customers i get are "snowbirds" and go south for the winter.

So i know I'm not asking a "general Question" but basically I like reading from the experts and I don't mind what you have to say. Just reply and I gurentee I'll read it and reply back thanking you.

Thanks

-Mitch

musician/lawnman
11-02-2008, 01:45 PM
Mitch,
I'm down here in Florida, but I can tell you alot of the guys on here are in the same boat up there & provide the same services you are talking about. The landscapers up north often tend to be the same guys with snow plows, shovels & snow blowers in their hands all winter.

Good luck man!

mhoward92
11-02-2008, 05:47 PM
yeah thats what I figured, I'm just wondering if anyone up here has any good ideas to keep busy other then snow removal.

Steve