PDA

View Full Version : New

Sean70
10-17-2008, 10:32 PM
Hi guys I am just trying to start up a company. I am a high school student, and am doing Fall clean ups. I am trying to make a good impression so that next summer I can offer landscape services. I feel that this website is really helpful.
I play hockey for fun.

Steve
10-17-2008, 10:39 PM
Hi Sean,

Welcome to our forum!

What kinds of things are you doing to promote your business?

Sean70
10-18-2008, 03:18 PM
I am running adds in local papers and making flyers.

Steve
10-18-2008, 04:26 PM
Keep us posted on how that goes!

Do you have a lot of friends that run their own businesses or are you the only one?

Sean70
10-19-2008, 10:52 AM
Yea I will definitely do that. No I am the only one of my friends who is running there own business. Your website has really helped me thank you very much.

Sean70
10-19-2008, 11:17 AM
Also I am hoping someone could help me with something. I m wondering what I should charge for lawn mowing?
Thanks,
Sean

legendlawn
10-19-2008, 12:12 PM
Sean:

First, it would help alot to know where you are located. Prices vary depending on the market. No matter what I suggest that you set a minimum charge. I am in Wichita, KS and mine is $35 with prices going up from there. This is for mowing, trimming, edging, and blowing off the grass clippings. However, I was talking to a guy from Florida on here last week who said that he couldn't get more than $25 a mow in his area. He even mows some stuff for as low as $15. What I'm saying is you must find out what your competition is charging, and what the market supports. Also, you must make money on each account. If you are not you must be charging more. Once you get going, figure out what your cost per yard is, and then set a minimum PROFITABLE price based on that assesment.

Sean70
10-19-2008, 12:16 PM
Thank your for that information I am from Massachusetts. Do you charge per acre or how do you charge?
Thanks,
Sean

legendlawn
10-19-2008, 01:17 PM