PDA

View Full Version : Hello to all from Wichita KS.

legendlawn
10-13-2008, 04:45 PM
Greetings:
I am the President of Legend Lawn and Landscape Inc. in Andover, KS. For those of you that don't know Anover is just outside of Wichita. I am 21years old and this is my first year in business for myself. However, this is my fourth season in the industry. I am 21 years old and have 2 years of a college education complete in working torwards a business management degree. My education has been temporarily suspended while I get this business up off the ground. I have always been told that I am very business and entrepreneur oriented, and consider myself to have some business sense for my age. When I'm not working, which is never, I like to play golf. I used to play every day, and went to college on scholarship for it. Now I am lucky if I get out once a month.
Previously to starting this company I was the manager of Southwind Lawn and Landcape Inc. in Wichita. This company is now defunct. This past February the owner came and told me he was going to liquidate his company. This was a bombshell to me, because he had led me to believe I had a future with his company and maybe even an ownership oppurtunity. He did offer me his residential accounts free of charge. I felt this was the least he could do. He agreed to send all of the customers letters explaining the transition, and agreed to help me get started. However, I haven't heard from him since, and he never sent the letters. I pressed forward and talked to as many customers as I could, and was still able to pick up some. I picked up some others on my own by flyering, and bought some accounts from a competitor mid-season. All in all I would consider my first year in business to be a success. I have learned alot.