PDA

View Full Version : How to get deadbeat customers to pay?

Tinkersgarden
10-02-2008, 05:51 PM
Hello everyone!

I'm sure it's happened to most of us...a customer that wants the garden weeded and then decides that her daylilies weren't trimmed just right and decides to not pay for the services rendered.

How do you get that person to pay for services that has been performed? Obviously you discontinue your services, but what about the past due amount?

Thanks!! Amy

quickcleanlawn
10-02-2008, 10:21 PM
Check with your local authorities. I think its thaft of service valued at $100 bucks, or whatever. Here, I think anything over $100 is a felony too, so ask him if he realy wants to deal with that.
I used to be a manager at Jiff lube when I was like 19 and had to do that to two different people.both of them whet to jail.

mario543k20
10-03-2008, 07:43 AM
theft of services is correct. I work full time as a Night Manager at a hotel. I've had 2 occasions of people not being able to afford their bill. The authorities came, and said they have to pay or they would be arrested for theft of services. Make sure you have a contract though. Calling the cops without sufficient paperwork may prove useless...

Tinkersgarden
10-03-2008, 12:51 PM
I just check with local authorities and they do not support any Theft of Services because it's a civil matter. Recommend Small Claims Court. That'll eat up my time; which I can't replace or make up! Hope I can claim that also!?!?

Steve
10-03-2008, 12:57 PM
How much do they owe you? That could help everyone make a better decision if they would go after this amount or just write it off.

Tinkersgarden
10-03-2008, 04:11 PM
I know it doesn't seem like much, but it was my sweat and hard work.
2 accounts under $750.00 At this point, they're 8 weeks late.

Steve
10-03-2008, 04:49 PM
Well that still is a considerable amount of money. If it were $75, I probably wouldn't bother with it.