PDA

View Full Version : Ferris Mower Vs. Scag Mower

briandel265
08-22-2008, 04:20 PM
Hello, I am currently in the market for a new mower. I have been pricing them out and they all tend to be in the 7500-8000 dollars range. I live in CT. This is my first year doing landscaping and it has been awesome so far. I bought an older scag turf tiger for this year and have already thrown 1500 dollars into it. It has been in the shop more than on the lawns. I am going to be selling it and in the market for a new mower. Today I went to the local Ferris dealer and took a look at their IS1500Z and IS2000Z. They both looked like pretty solid machines, and both with a 25 hp kawi. The 1500 was going for $7700 and the 2000 was going for $9000. I am also looking into a scag tiger cub as well, which has a 25 hp kawi as well. They are asking $7600 for the scag. I am looking for someone who might have had experience with both mowers, and recomends one over the other. I like the independent suspension on the Ferris and have had nothing but problems with my scag. They are the same price, same engine...Which one is a better machine?? Any help would be great! Thanks.

Brian

Steve
08-23-2008, 10:41 PM
This is really a great post. It does make you wonder if you would be better off with two used mowers where you could use one as a back up in case another was down.

Brian are you pretty handy with mechanics and taking things apart and fixing them or would you rather just have newer equipment?

I bought an older scag turf tiger for this year and have already thrown 1500 dollars into it.

When you bought it, how many hours were on it?

What kind of things did you have to replace to hit the $1,500 mark?

briandel265
08-25-2008, 08:34 PM