PDA

View Full Version : Transition from Grass to Leaves

Totally Green
08-19-2008, 11:19 AM
When dealing with my regular customers, when (and how) should I start to charge for leaf removal? For example, we go for the regular scheduled cut and there are leaves in the yard. If you chop them up, they look bad. If you bag them, it takes longer. How do you charge for the leaf removal without making your customer mad?

UniversityLandscapers
08-19-2008, 09:04 PM
I would think to just let them know ahead of time, and give them the options...either you mow over them and they stay behind or you bag them up for a certain amount...

That gives them the option to clean them up themselves if they don't want to pay.

Steve
08-19-2008, 11:00 PM
Gary,

I don't know how your area is but is there a slow down in mowing when the bulk of the leaves fall?

Totally Green
08-20-2008, 01:20 PM
This is my first year, but our grass can grow all the way into October. That leaves us at least a month or so of doing both.

Totally Green
08-20-2008, 01:35 PM
Hi Steve,
This is off subject, but yesterday I was looking over a thread searching for a business plan (now I can't find it) and noticed you use to help companies through, I think you called it, a "head start" program. I was curious why you don't do that any more.

Steve
08-20-2008, 05:35 PM
Here check this link out http://gopherforum.com/showthread.php?t=357

Steve
08-20-2008, 05:38 PM
This is my first year, but our grass can grow all the way into October. That leaves us at least a month or so of doing both.

This is a very interesting question especially for those who live in warmer areas. When you don't have a break between mowing and leaves falling, how do you tell the customer that cleaning up the leaves will be an additional fall cleanup rate?

Any other thoughts on this?

StartALawnCareBusiness
08-21-2008, 10:27 AM