PDA

View Full Version : the pursuit of happiness vs family time

quickcleanlawn
08-18-2008, 09:54 PM
what exactly is the pursuit of happiness ? Are you really happy in your pursuit ? what about all of your friends and family?Are they happy in your pursuit?
After all your efforts to give your family everything they need, do you ever feel your not giveing them what they needed most?

UniversityLandscapers
08-19-2008, 12:58 AM
I've always found the most annoying part of the job to be the huge amount of time spent after "work" working on other administrative/equipment maintenance tasks. I also hate the constant phone calls...Sunday afternoons seem to be the time that everyone wants to call about a quote, so I just ignore the phone and let voicemail handle it till Monday.

When it comes down to it (I'm a college student who does this in the summer), I'm on summer "vacation" from my real job as a full-time student, and I'd like to get some enjoyment out of this so-called vacation, so come August, I pull the ads and tell people who phone that we're full up. I've crammed my schedule into 4, 9/10 hour days and given myself three day weekends, setting aside some time for billing and other work. I think it's pretty key to anticipate the time you'll spend outside of the mowing/working so that it doesn't cut into your real free time with family/friends.

And sometimes you have to decide who's more important, the customer or your family...don't be afraid to say no to your customer when they come up with outrageous scheduling requests. It's not your fault that they're in such a hurry to get something done.

justin_time
08-19-2008, 08:37 AM