PDA

View Full Version : Do you have your applicators license?

Steve
03-31-2006, 02:28 AM
Do you have your applicators license? If not why?

Do you feel you can make more money with this or not?

ritchiem
03-31-2006, 07:20 AM
I am a Licensed Landscape Exterminator - Under the Pesticides Act of Ontario.

I have to have it to apply anything...well you only need your Technicians License, however as an Exterminator I can have up to 5 Technicians under me.

kc2006
03-31-2006, 09:19 AM
I'm certified in Ohio for turf and ornimental area pesticide and fertilizer applications.

I decided to not offer the service this year though as I am still learning. *I didn't want to get head first into it and end up looking like a fool because I'm not up to par on it all. *I am however using it for applying pre emergence apps & *non selective apps in beds when I do mulch installs.

Considering I'm younger, it's nice to be certified so when someone ask's my qualifications I can say "I'm certified by the state to apply pesticides and fertilizer", it helps make me look more professional I think

Steve
03-31-2006, 10:48 AM
Hi kc2006,

Couldn't we get someone on the forum to explain to you a little more what you need to get yourself started with this? I think there is potentially more money to be made by offering these services.

tiedeman
03-31-2006, 12:38 PM
Yup, have my license and love it. Heck, I am pursuing an application only type business.

The hardest thing about it, is following the regulations. Getting your shop, vehicle, paperwork, MSDS sheets, etc. up to par.

kc2006
03-31-2006, 03:30 PM
TG, I know of the regulations due to all the study material for the exams. I have everything set up actually to start offering the service (all the paperwork and storage of the chemicals). The only equipment I lack is a spreader, but I'll be picking one up soon.