PDA

View Full Version : Hi Everyone!

andyjoneslawncare
07-30-2008, 09:25 PM
My name is Andy and this is my first season in the lawn care biz. I'm just starting out and have minimal equipment and no experience but so far I LOVE this job! I get to ride around on my "go-cart with blades" and because most of my properties were fairly neglected before, my clients are all really impressed and excited when I trim bushes and trees that haven't been touched in years! I was (and still am) broke when I started so I bought a 50" Cub Cadet ZTR @ home depot because it was the only credit card I had left with a balance. I bought a blower, trimmer, and edger attachments for my 2 ryobi weed wackers. Hopefully the engine will last until I can buy professional equipment! I grabbed a palm tree pruner, a gorrilla ladder, rake, etc., and got a little push mower from one of my clients that obviously doesn't need it anymore. I bought an 8ft tilt bed trailer from a friend for $200. This will be the first thing that gets replaced. Nothing worse than having to unload everything off the trailer at every stop so everthing doesn't come crashing on the street when I back the mower off. I'm sure its amusing to watch. I only have 14 accounts right now that I can get done in 2 days so it would be a stretch to say I'm full time. I'm working on a web site now and just got my business cards a couple weeks ago. They say "Andy Jones Lawn Care. My mom thinks I'm "special" and so will you!" I have 4 and 5 year old kids and I wanted my own business so I can work my schedule around kids and my busy life. I'm a single dad but my ex and I get along better than most so I'm pretty lucky. I like fishing alot. My brother is a capt in the keys and I have my pilots license and sometimes fly down to fish with him. Not recently though. I'm too broke and aviation fuel cost even more than regular gas! I'm here looking for advice and tips and to let any other newbies know that this business has me really excited and I'