PDA

View Full Version : Friends in business?

Steve
03-24-2006, 09:19 AM
Do you have a support group of friends who run their own businesses? Do you talk with them much about business decisions?

What types of businesses do your friends run?

tiedeman
03-24-2006, 10:59 AM
I have one neighbor ( I graduated with him as well) actually that we talk about businss all the time. *He owns the local Ace Hardware store. *He always gives me great deals as well. *I love having him in my corner for when I need to order things at a short notice

Steve
03-24-2006, 07:33 PM
That is really neat! How did he ever get involved in that?

tiedeman
03-24-2006, 08:38 PM
Kind of funny story:

He actually went to school, and received a bachelors in business management, *But while in high school and going to college, here worked in a local hardware store here. *The hardware store was horrible. *Employees never received raises (he worked there for about 5 years), no bonuses, nothing. *It was a really bad place, but it was really the only local hardware here without having to travel 15 miles south to the Home Depot. *

He left the hardware store, worked for me believe it or not for about 2 years, then finished up school. *After he finished up school he went and did some work at a local 81 Lumber and a Golf Course.

During that time the local hardware store here kept on getting worse and worse towards the treatment of customers, but the owner knew that people didn't want to travel 15 miles away, so he jacked up the prices and kept up with the attitude.

Finally, my buddys dad one day, whom is a major contractor throughout the U.S., approached him (my buddy) and asked him about going into a partnership and open up an Ace Hardware here. *My buddy jumped on it. *