PDA

View Full Version : New Business

patphish123
02-12-2008, 03:10 PM
Hi all i am just starting out in this business in the Toronto Canada area, I am not how ever new to landscaping i have been doing it for other companies for the last 12 years and now have decided to make the jump. My biggest concern is be able to get the work rolling in. I have designed door hangers and fliers that i will be dispersing soon. But i am looking for other ideas that will also be helpful. Anyone got and good ones?

Steve
02-12-2008, 03:45 PM
Hi patphish123,

Welcome to our forum!

When you worked for your previous lawn care business, what kinds of marketing did they do? What did you find worked well and what didn't work at all?

patphish123
02-12-2008, 04:08 PM
I was not really involved in the marketing aspect of those companies, the only thing i knew that worked was sending out pre-pay discounts for exsisting customers, for pruning, mulching, and mowing. As i don't have a customer base i cannot use this.

Steve
02-12-2008, 04:15 PM
Oh that is fascinating! We were just talking about that in another post! What kind of offer did you give to get people to prepay?

patphish123
02-12-2008, 04:29 PM
we sent out it looked like an invoice but it listed all the services we have done for them in the past with the regular price then a prepay discount of %10 if they signed it and returned a check by a deadline date it was just a good way to bring money into the company earlier to cover the spring costs, it worked very well to big response on it

Steve
02-12-2008, 04:42 PM
I think that is a great idea. Are you going to do that this year?

patphish123
02-12-2008, 04:46 PM
I can't this is my first season coming up and i do not have a customer base to send out this offer, but i certianly will in the years to come when i do get a base built up. i need ideas for getting this base

Steve
02-12-2008, 04:50 PM