PDA

View Full Version : How did I use your web templates

Element Landscape and Design
12-10-2007, 05:02 PM
I want to use your free web templates to start my own website. I have no experience in web design. What are the steps to post this to an actual domain name. I already have my domain name, but dont know how to transfer template to my website. Please keep it simple. I'm new at this!

Thanks
Greenmind

Steve
12-10-2007, 07:45 PM
Hi Greenmind,

Welcome to our forum! Nice to have you here.

Ok first step do you have an ftp (file transfer program) program? So you can upload the files to your website? Something maybe like cuteftp?

StartALawnCareBusiness
12-10-2007, 07:56 PM
Quote[/b] ]Something maybe like cuteftp?

Or Windows XP.

I guess the most basic outline of how to get your website up and running would be:

1) D/load the Gopher templates into a folder on your local harddrive.
2) Open them in an editor. Notepad, Dreamweaver, FrontPage.
3) Edit the templates to your liking then save them back to your local folder. Make sure to retain the file structure and naming conventions.
4) Open an ftp program. If you have Windows XP, goto Start, My Network Places, Add A Network Place (Follow directions from your hosting company)
5) Drag all the goper template files into the folder you just created in your My Network Connections folder.

That's it.

Let us know if you need more help:

Keith

pnplawn
12-10-2007, 09:51 PM
Better yet go here http://www.ebuildlawncarewebsites.com

12-11-2007, 04:13 AM
Dear Gopher Nation,

I still can't get my website or even seem to edit it. I have gotten this error message several times.
Software error: