PDA

View Full Version : new member

pbielby
01-26-2008, 07:04 PM
hello my name is Patrick and I am 31 years of age and trying to start a lawn care buisness I am a full time firefighter for the city of kinston North Carolina the name of my company is
Sur-Kuts Lawncare & Landscapes if anyone has any info to help me get started that would be great for me because I ask local lawncare people around home and most want help me.

jrwalker333
01-26-2008, 07:32 PM
Hi Patrick, I have a brother that lives in Matthews N.C. he has a small business there Walker Lawn Care you might get some local advise from him, if he is even close to you?? I am in the Ohio area and there are probably different laws etc; here compared to where you are. Usually you can get valuable resources through your state different associations for starting you will need to register your trade name usually with Secretary of State, obtain a vendors license, obtain state mandated workers compensation insurance (if you have employees) obtain a chemical pesticide license through the Department of Agriculture if you are going to do lawn treatments, also you should definately obtain a property damage insurance policy a (must have) get a federal tax id number (ein) alot of valuable resources ( do a search on google for starting a business in your state) alot of times there are even local city offices that will help you. Their is also the Small Business Administration and a group called S.C.O.R.E. (they are a group of retired business executives) that offer help for free. Planning etc, check your Chamber of Commerce also. etc

Rich
Dreamscapes Unlimited

Steve
01-26-2008, 09:56 PM
Hi Patrick,

Welcome to our forum!

Quote[/b] ]if anyone has any info to help me get started that would be great

What kinds of things are you getting stuck with?

I like your business name and I think the fact you are a fireman can help you in your marketing. Are you handing out business cards to everyone you know?