PDA

View Full Version : nebie here!

southernslang
11-15-2006, 08:42 AM
hello everone ,im Blaine aka southernslang.im new to the biz and have learnd so much about it since i have startedback in april.
i have a question for anyone in southeast louisiana.
what do you do for work in the winter?

Steve
11-15-2006, 04:01 PM
Hi Blaine,

Welcome to the site!

Was your area effected by Katrina?

When you look around your area do you see others offering services you could be offering too during the slower months?

southernslang
11-15-2006, 10:37 PM
yea, where i live was one of the hardest hit ares .theres lots of work here but the scammer have made it so hard for people like me to get work its crazy.
i also do house gutting and yard clean up and every thing ,but as far as construction people wanna see alot of credentials. and thats where the big money is.
but anywho this is my first season and realy dint understand when people say it gets slow in the winter that they realy understate it .its only november and its almost at a screeching hault,this was real unexpected. the income i make through my lawn care biz is very depended on by my family,and christmas is around the corner,plus my truck died yesterday .

Steve
11-16-2006, 12:18 AM
Oh!

Can I ask how you got into this business? What did you do before?

southernslang
11-16-2006, 08:32 AM
i ran a body shop for about 5 years befor the storm. not long after, i came across a good deal on a truck trailer and equipment.
my intintion was to buy and sell, but a freind of mine thats been in the lawn biz told me how much money was in it.so i gave it a try.
that was back in april. this is my first slow season,and gets kinda scary to me,so pardon me if i freak out a little.

Steve
11-16-2006, 04:43 PM
What did you like or dislike about the body business?

southernslang
11-16-2006, 10:51 PM
basicly since the storm,i lost all of my tools and equipment,and the economy for automobiles has gone to hourse doo doo down here.