PDA

View Full Version : Fertilization

stricklyg79
01-06-2008, 10:45 PM
I live and work in coastal Georgia (about an hour west of Savannah). What would be the best fertilizer and best fertilizer instruction for me... I am NEW at this as you can tell!!

pmblair
01-06-2008, 10:49 PM
I can't really answer that question for you, but being a fellow Georgian (I live about 20 minutes south of Atlanta in Fayetteville), I wanted to make sure that you have gotten your contractor's license and applicators license... without those, you're not legally allowed to use fertilizer on a customer's lawn.

Just wanted to make sure you already knew that... = )

stricklyg79
01-06-2008, 10:53 PM
Wow! Now you see why I am on here for help! Thanks... instructions for obtaining these? Cost??

pmblair
01-06-2008, 11:08 PM
Let's see.... the cost for the test for the applicator's license is $45 I believe. You NEED to study for this before taking the test... and of course, you have to buy study materials.

I don't know if there is even a cost for the contractor's license, but I DO know that you have to have proof of General Liability insurance** before you can obtain such a license.

Contact the Department of Agriculture to find out all the specifics. (Georgia Department of Agriculture website (http://agr.georgia.gov/))

**If you're not already insured, I would recommend doing this anyway... you can get a good $1,000,000 policy for about $500/year. Not bad! Check with your local insurance agencies for more information about that.

Hope this information helps.

makbootzy
01-06-2008, 11:41 PM
Quote[/b] (pmblair @ Jan. 07 2008,12:08)]Let's see.... the cost for the test for the applicator's license is $45 I believe. *You NEED to study for this before taking the test... and of course, you have to buy study materials.

I don't know if there is even a cost for the contractor's license, but I DO know that you have to have proof of General Liability insurance** before you can obtain such a license.