PDA

View Full Version : Windows Vista


ALarsh
02-18-2007, 07:26 PM
I recently got a new computer with Windows Vista on it due to my last computer with XP breaking down. I'm trying to install gopher on Vista and it says it can't create the database. Please help! What do I need to do to create the database? I have a backup saved here but don't know how to set it up correctly.

Thanks.

Gopher Support
02-19-2007, 07:46 PM
Try right-clicking on the Gopher 2006 icon on your desktop, select Properties and then go to the Compatibility tab. Set the "Run this program in compatibility mode for" to "Windows 98 / Windows ME".

If the error persists please tell us what the exact error message says.

ALarsh
08-26-2007, 05:19 PM
Ok that solved most of my issues but there is still one.

Everytime I turn my computer on and go to start Gopher the program always freezes up before it completely boots up and goes into the "Not Responding" mode after going to clt + alt + del. I have to shut down the program via "End Task" on the "Windows Task Manager" and then reboot the program. Then it boots up correctly but I always have to end the program once. Is there a solution for this?