PDA

View Full Version : backups


Glenn
05-27-2006, 07:00 PM
How stable is the backups created with Gopher? What I would like to do is run software on 2 Computers by restoring from backup. Is this the best way to do this? Also is there anything that I need to do regularly to keep database running smoothly?

Gopher Support
05-28-2006, 01:57 PM
You could simply copy the GDB file from one computer to the other. But the process of backing up and restoring forces Gopher to perform automatic maintenance, which is a good thing for your database file.

Ric3077
06-04-2006, 11:16 PM
For some reason my backup file is a .GBK file? What can I do about that?

Gopher Support
06-05-2006, 04:14 PM
If you are trying to copy your database file, it will be a gdb file.

A gbk file is created during the backup process but that is not the file you want to save.

Ric3077
06-05-2006, 10:40 PM
a BGK is what got saved and my system is needing to be restored...is there any way to use this file?

Gopher Support
06-06-2006, 12:44 AM
No.

Please review the F.A.Q.'s on how to back up your database here
http://www.gophergraphics.com/forum....2&t=684 (http://www.gophergraphics.com/forum/cgi-bin/ikonboard.cgi?act=ST&f=2&t=684)

We even have movie files to watch. I am sorry you are having a tough time backing up your data. I hope these training files help.

If you have no other backups, you could consider doing the system restore, through Windows, you had done in the past.