PDA

View Full Version : Backing up Gopher onto disk


LuvdaPack36
02-15-2006, 06:27 PM
Can I do this and if so how? I looked in the manual but couldnt find anything about it. I would like to back it up to a CD as Im getting a new computer.

Steve
02-15-2006, 06:55 PM
Hi LuvdaPack36,

Gopher can't backup to a cd. You will need to use your cd burning software and burn your Gopher database onto the cd. To find out where your Gopher database is, go to Options at the bottom left and then click on the database tab at top.

LuvdaPack36
02-15-2006, 09:33 PM
Im not to sure how to do this...

Steve
02-15-2006, 10:15 PM
Hi LuvdaPack36,

If your computer came with a cd burner, it must have come with software to burn the cd. Possibly try to drag and drop the file onto the cd drive icon?

LuvdaPack36
02-17-2006, 11:06 AM
Im still a little confused. You said Gopeher cant be backed up but I went under FILE and it says "Gopher Backup"


When I did that I got about halfway done and I got the message


"Cannot Create File D:\Gopherbackup.zip."

Steve
02-17-2006, 07:39 PM
Hi LuvdaPack36,

Gopher can not write directly to a cd.

Gopher can write to or be backed up to other devices such as a floppy disk, zip disk drive, external hard drive.

LuvdaPack36
02-17-2006, 08:09 PM
Ahhh ok.


So I can back it up on a 3.5? And it will save all my customer info to date and everything I have entered?

Steve
02-17-2006, 08:59 PM
Hi LuvdaPack36,

Yes it will.