PDA

View Full Version : Check deposit

googus
04-14-2013, 03:32 PM
Ok guys I am new to this. So go easy on me

I had a customer that did not read the notation on my invoice that stated cash, or check made out to me or cash.

He made the check out to my business.
The question is - will my bank cash it if I don't have an account under that name? I can provide notorized proof of my DBA that shows my name, address, and company name on it?
Thanks

SNethercutt
04-14-2013, 04:00 PM
Probably not. If your in business and have a DBA llc or whatever, you should also obtain a bank account in that name. Why?

A lot of people have home offices and like company's they write what you do off on their taxes. The IRS doesn't believe Joe Schmoe mowed your yard 52 times in 2012, but they will believe Nexus Lawn Care mowed your place 52 times... catch my drift.

Most people won't write out checks to your personal name. Just your business name. Thats why most illegitimate businesses name their company after theirself.

dpld
04-14-2013, 04:43 PM
Probably not. If your in business and have a DBA llc or whatever, you should also obtain a bank account in that name. Why?

A lot of people have home offices and like company's they write what you do off on their taxes. The IRS doesn't believe Joe Schmoe mowed your yard 52 times in 2012, but they will believe Nexus Lawn Care mowed your place 52 times... catch my drift.

Most people won't write out checks to your personal name. Just your business name. Thats why most illegitimate businesses name their company after theirself.

how the hell did you come to those conclusions?

the IRS could give a rats toot about what the name of a business is and coming up with some crap name does not make you anymore legit then the next guy especially someone using their own name.

i am going into my 24th year in business and have been legit before i ever did my first job and i have averaged over 500k or more for the last 10 years and my business is using my name.