PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Advice

GreenBlue
03-21-2013, 06:30 PM
I have been doing alot of research and its not going to be easy where I live to try and get certified to offer fertilizer application to customers. So since I am a newbie, I want to know can you still operate a successful lawn service by not offering fertilizing to customers? This puts a huge damper in my plans and sort of has me second guessing myself because of the unknown, so any help and advice is greatly appreciated.

wat5150
03-21-2013, 06:34 PM
Of course you can run a successful lawn biz without fertilizer. Besides mowing you could mulch, edge, install flower beds, trim and plant shrubbery, learn how to work with pavers and do that, pressure wash. I mean the list goes on and on. Get your feet wet with a few of the standard services then if your doing ok and want to get certified for fert then go for it.

Hedgemaster
03-21-2013, 08:04 PM
Depends on who your clients are.

mike affordable
03-21-2013, 09:02 PM
you can also go with organic fertilizer.im doing my reserch on it now .think i will be offering it this year. good luck!!:)

Steve
03-22-2013, 12:42 PM
You can't do everything right out of the gate. Most things need to be scaled up. You learn as you go and you can expand the services you offer.

Do what you can do now with what you have. Learn more as you go and grow when opportunities arise.

GreenBlue
03-22-2013, 06:33 PM
You can't do everything right out of the gate. Most things need to be scaled up. You learn as you go and you can expand the services you offer.

Do what you can do now with what you have. Learn more as you go and grow when opportunities arise.

That's the plan, I just wanted some advice, because alot of competitors offer fertilizing. But yes I am only starting out with mowing, edging, spring/fall cleanups, gutter cleaning, and flower bed maintenance, might do a little bush/shrub/small tree pruning, but not sure if its worth the time and trouble on that.

warbuff