PDA

View Full Version : Lawn Care Account Question

Heinz_MN
03-19-2013, 12:05 PM
I have been in the lawn care business for a little over 16 years with the same company. Over the past couple of months I have been thinking of going on my own, but making that commitment is holding me back since I have a family to support. The company that I work for is and has been going down hill for quite some time and I just heard that there is a potential buyer for it and he will end up being the owner within the year. Thing is, is the potential buyer is a good friend of mine and I do not want to work for him because I know how he is and I don't want to work for friends.

Here is my question; there is one lawn maintenance account that I really want from the company that I work for and we've had it ever since the company started. This commercial property is a well paying account and I have been doing the property for well over 10 years so I know how things run there and how the property needs to look. How do I go about in acquiring this account from my boss? Because this property would keep me busy all week long with 2 mowings per week and misc. pruning, edging, sod and flower replacement, etc.

I hope I worded this right where you all can understand it. I think this would be a great start to going on my own. Any type of information would greatly help me out. If you need any other info let me know.

LawnBoy0311
03-19-2013, 12:12 PM
I will probably be of no help at all, but here is an idea:

Offer to buy the account from him.

This could go 2 ways. He says yes because he may get more money out of the deal by selling it to you, or he may say no because of the value to the new owner (the new owner may be less likely to buy if he knows how big the account is)

Its a hard spot to be in.

I had a lot more to type but I'm having a brain fart.

Sprinkler Buddy
03-19-2013, 01:20 PM