PDA

View Full Version : Website. Yay or Nay?

Mowin4Dollas
01-16-2013, 09:17 PM
I will not be legit this year, but should I still create a website? As of right now I am a high school student trying to build his lawn business. Should I make one?

bruces
01-16-2013, 09:35 PM
I say why bother ?as your not legal,if the tax man sees it you could be hit hard ,if other legit lawn guys see it they could report you ,basically I dont see an upside for you .

LawnBoy0311
01-17-2013, 05:40 AM
I say go for it. Check your local/gov laws. But to be a so called "legit" business, the one thing everyone overlooks is revenue. You MUST make a certain $ amount before you can even claim a business as "legit". Let's say your lawn care company only makes 3K, the government looks at it as a hobby. Make sure you keep great records of everything though- just incase they decide to come after you.

Right now, there are thousands of websites in the US that aren't a real business.

CHEESE2009
01-17-2013, 06:37 AM
Do it.

Even if you aren't legal, Governments don't focus on websites.

I forget where my source is, but I know they can't do anything unless it clearly states that you are asking for money. Avoid giving prices on your site.

Just show your services, and provide contact info.

Mowin4Dollas
01-17-2013, 08:40 AM
I will be well under 10k this year. I keep a notebook of all transactions. Do you think I will be ok?

Steve
01-17-2013, 12:43 PM
What is keeping you from being 'legit?'

Mowin4Dollas
01-17-2013, 01:06 PM
My age. I can't get a business license or an insurance policy. The parents aren't going to sign for one.

brian'slawncare
01-17-2013, 01:10 PM