PDA

View Full Version : start my business

meadows lawn care
12-31-2007, 03:21 AM
what kinda of permits or licenses do i need to run my businesss

realhuntin
12-31-2007, 03:36 AM
contact your local municipal they will guide you through what you need as a business and getting the business opperation licenses for the counties and cities yo umay be working in.

Steve
12-31-2007, 11:20 AM
Hi meadows lawn care,

Welcome to our forum!

What kind of services do you plan on offering? Would you be applying any chemicals?

meadows lawn care
12-31-2007, 07:17 PM
Just yearly fertilizer plans.I offer mowing,trimming,general landscaping stuff.I also do power washing.I have done a few lawns for a couple years and now I want to do this for a living.I know I need a dba from my town but I didnt know if there was anything special I needed.If it helps I am in massachusetts

pmblair
01-01-2008, 01:49 AM
Well, this is just my knowledge from Georgia, but here goes...

Naturally, you'll want to get a business license. I would also HIGHLY recommend you get General Liability insurance... and if you're going to be applying chemicals (and here's where the "Georgia knowledge" comes into play) you're going to need an applicator's license and a contractor's license. Apply chemicals (including fertilizer, weed killer and bug killer) without these licenses and you WILL be fined.

Hope this helps.

meadows lawn care
01-01-2008, 07:33 PM
thank you.where do i get my business license?i have looked around and have come up short on info.also is there something i have to do with the government for taxes?

realhuntin
01-01-2008, 08:38 PM
Quote[/b] (meadows lawn care @ Jan. 01 2008,7:33)]thank you.where do i get my business license?i have looked around and have come up short on info.also is there something i have to do with the government for taxes?
Go here and read up on all of this and it will help you with what to do.

http://www.irs.gov/businesses/small/article/0,,id=98350,00.html