PDA

View Full Version : Equipment/Miscellaneous Questions

Rdelahunr
07-27-2012, 02:38 PM
Hi, I'm new to the lawncare business and plan to start my own next summer. I'm 16, will be 17, and live in northern Minnesota.

Is a simple mow, trim, blow and go proper or do you think I need to include edging?

Is my pricing proper? I want to achieve around $30 an hour but will not give estimates based on labor time as that is a recipe for issues with customers. I called a couple local landscapers and one charges $75-$85 for a 1/2 acre lot 3 miles from town, while the other charges $75 for a 2 man crew working a 1 acre lot for one hour, so it's safe to say it's $75 per man hour or per half acre.
Ex: I see a 1.7 acre lot and figure 3-3.5 hours of work (48" tractor), but notice a lot of trees requiring trimming, so I would charge $100-$110, right?

Do I need to buy a backpack blower or would a handheld gas one be good enough. I work at a resort and use a backpack blower weekly and feel that it would be a little over the top to go with a backpack blower when there's only a few minutes of blowing to be done.

Opinions on biweekly cuts? During the months of June and July weekly cuts are necessary but here in MN during August weekly is somewhat of a waste. How do you guys get around this issue?

When do I start and stop cutting for the season? School ends around the end of May or the beginning of June, and I play golf for the high school team, and it's possible that the lawns may start growing again around this time. How to I get around this issue? I do not play a fall sport so I can work after school, which starts right away in September.