PDA

View Full Version : New lawn care business

xandrew245x
07-14-2012, 06:56 PM
Hey guys, I have recently started a part time lawn care business. I have a lot of background with maintaining lawns. I have been taking care of my parents businesse's lawn, my grandmothers lawn, my moms house and my moms rental house for the past 3 years, so I have a little background with lawn care.

I'm set with my equipment, I have a 5x10 trailer, a 50" zero turn, a push mower, string trimmer, edger, backpack blower and a lawn sweeper.

So I can do the mowing and trimming part, but i can't say i'm to good at the business part, so I have a few questions.

My first question is pricing. I used the estimators on this site and for a lawn that I will be mowing this week for a new customer it says I should only be charging $12.50, that doesn't seem worth it. Should I say, charge a minimum service charge of $15-20 and then add the 12.50 on top of it?

My second question is, what happens if my clients grass doesn't need mowed yet for that week. Should I just mow it on a higher setting and charge them for it, or should I water their grass, and find some other things to do for them to occupy my time there, and then charge them for a visit.

Thank you in advance for all your input.

CHEESE2009
07-14-2012, 07:17 PM
The most common mistake I see people make, is charging only for when the lawn needs to be cut.

You charge them for a position on your schedule, whether their grass grows or not. This is how you make good money.

"Oh but my lawn doesn't need to be cut" - Doesn't matter, all or nothing.

If people charge only when the lawns need to be cut, they are probably suffering right now with how little the grass has actually grown. Not to mention, clients wait until the grass is up to your neck before they decide to call you.

Running an on-call business is trouble. Your equipment gets beat up, your schedule AND income aren't stable.

-