PDA

View Full Version : Saving a competitor's life....

SouthallMowing
06-29-2012, 11:20 AM
I just finished putting the trailer up, and got inside and tones dropped for a rollover on a local state route. Well, this is my first day of being a certified EMT in the state of Ohio. So, I made a quick run down to station, 2 other EMT's were waiting for my arrival. We get to the wreck. Fire department is there, they just got done blocking traffic with cones and stuff. I got out of the squad, assess the first patient I get to. a 20 something female. She's breathing, out of the car, at this time not sure how. I hear someone yell "We got someone over here" they were about 50 feet away. I got over there, to find not only one of my mowing competition people, but a mower, that I graduated high school with exactly a month ago. This was on the 27th. After the quick life saving techniques, a few higher card EMT's took over, because I'm a basic, and he wasn't breathing and was unresponsive. I don't think I have to tell anyone that they were ejected by this time. The female, still awake and talking, told us they were high. Awesome.... They both got flown to a trauma 1 center in Columbus. She's doing okay. just a broken hip. He however, has too many broken bones to list, needs plastic surgery, he's on a ventilator, his liver is shutting down. Nothing, scared me more than seeing him lay there that night. Not only just a mower that helps me out, and I help him out, but a classmate, one who I was somewhat close to. Just laying there. Downside to being a 911 squad. But if he pulls through, nothing will make me happier, than seeing him on that mower again...

Steve
07-02-2012, 01:48 PM
WOW What a call! I hope he pulls through. When people get ejected, it's never ever a good thing as there is an enormous amount of trauma the body is inflicted with.