PDA

View Full Version : making the jump

grassmasterj
06-28-2012, 12:42 AM
Hey all,

I was an insurance agent for 8 years and couldn't take it anymore and decided to make the jump and Hong to start my own lawn care and property maintenance company. I will be attending our local community college to get my A.A.S in turf management. What does everyone recommend to start out with for equipment? The Honda or toro commercial push mower? Stihl blower and trimmer or Echo. I want to start getting my equipment now and start next summer. All help is greatly appreciated!

Josh

WeekendWarriorLawn
06-28-2012, 12:53 AM
i recommend you get started in the meantime. you'll learn more in the field and using goolge faster than waiting to look clean from a class at your local school.

for credentials sake i dont knock that, but get your hands dirty.

i'd say take classes while you have the free time and money, or wait until winter if you currently have the work, time, or money.

Steve
06-29-2012, 10:23 AM
Welcome to our forum!

Do you take care of your property now? If so can you use the equipment you have now and then scale up as needed?

Are you looking to take on customers now? Have you talked to your neighbors and friends to see if they can hire your services to help get you started?

grassmasterj
06-30-2012, 02:19 AM
Hi Steve ~

Thank you for your reply! I do take care of my own property now and just went out and picked up and echo trimmer and blower. I want to add customers right now however I do have a truck to haul my equipment around. I am planning on saving up some money to purchase a truck and trailer outright and looking to market and really get started next year. I do have some people in my direct area that have talked to me about mowing, just worried to get started since I don't have a truck/

wandfsmall
06-30-2012, 08:23 AM
Hi Steve ~