PDA

View Full Version : RTF Grass

52BeltDrive
03-19-2012, 06:54 PM
Anyone here have personal experience with it? Opinions?

http://www.rtfsod.com/

picframer
03-19-2012, 07:49 PM
I have around 40 clients with RTF that we landscaped either hydroseed or sod, in short for our climate there is not a grass that is a hearty as RTF, it is the first green lawn in the spring and even after our first snow fall it stays green, requires little care compared to other grass types available here and requires little water, down side is the cost as it is substantially higher than blue grass.

mark123
03-19-2012, 07:52 PM
Tall Fescue is a hearty variety. The color is no where near as dark green as KBG though. Tall Fescue will grow faster so if your customer wants it they better also want weekly mowing. It'll be 3 feet high by you get back on a 14 day rotation. :p

52BeltDrive
03-19-2012, 08:35 PM
Thanks guys, I have zero experience with the stuff (apparently I will soon).

Client has a reasonably nice KBG backyard and wants to redo the place with the RTF. A few weed issues but the lawn is completely salvagable "as is", his biggest problem is three female canine housepets that use the entire space to relieve themselves. I sincerely doubt any type of grass will provide his desired results without diligent attention to diluting these nitrogen deposits ASAP.

I feel kinda bad as the lawn could easily be repaired for pennies compared to labor and sod. Let the dogs in, turn on the sprinklers...I did find a product called TurfPro that is supposed be helpful, the cost seems reasonable enough. I can't in good concience do this job without trying to push toward repairing the existing turf.

I guess in the end the customer is always right, it's his money and his decision. I could see choosing this turf for the claimed "water saver" feature and drought tolerance, I know fescue is slightly less picky than bluegrass. I really fear the dogs will destroy portions of this new sod in short order.