PDA

View Full Version : New member from Scotland

Dan Frazer Gardening
03-18-2012, 04:17 AM
Hi all, I have just came across this site via youtube and thought I'd see what's going on.

I run www.danfrazergardening.co.uk , a commercial grounds/domestic/lawn care business based in Glasgow, Scotland. I have been operating since 2009 and things have gone very well. I work alone most of the time, although from March-November I use a part time helper 2-3 days per week.

This year is seeing growth and I hope to become a larger business with permanenet staff. I have got to this position by continuing to provide high standards, ongoing marketing and by being a bit obsessive in general.

My work ranges from looking after old people's gardens on a general maintenance plan, to servicing residential estates of 400 apartments, factory units and hotels. I have a particular interest in lawn care and am in a period of aeration and scarification at this time of year; trying to fit these non-regular jobs in to a tight schedule is proving very tricky!

I am curious how the business differs from here to the US. I expect the weather makes a difference - we have a lot of rainfall (2700mm per year) plus domestic gardens tend to have a lot of planted areas, filled with shrubs and perennials that require careful weed control. Lawns can be very wet at times, the soil is often clay, and there are a lot of trees providing cover from the sun so moss is common.

My plans for 2012 are to gain some large contracts, employ one person full time and possibly a part time guy on top of that, and gain enough domestic lawn care-only clients to fulfil a complete round with a small van in addition to the main business vehicle.

Hope people are doing well, here's to a busy 2012.

http://danfrazergardening.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/IMGP1438-2.jpg

Steve
03-19-2012, 02:33 PM
Hi Dan,

Welcome to our forum! That is a fantastic lawn picture you shared with us.