PDA

View Full Version : Need help figure out how to make a bid for lawn service

JMBonesteel
01-26-2012, 04:43 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am new at this. My name is James. Ppl called me, Jimbo. I am deaf but wear cochlear implant. I been having trouble finding job dues to my hearing. So, my church started help me to start a small business doing any odd job for members at our church. Now, I am getting more people requesting me to do lawn service as they like the work I do at the church and heard great things I do. Some of them own a business that has grass that will need to be mow. I am learning. It would be great if I can get some help how to figure out the measurement by Cents or dollars per square foot. I saw there is a calulator but I dont understand it. I wonder if anyone has easy way to do the measurement. Please let me know. Thanks!

Jimbo

Steve
01-26-2012, 05:13 PM
Hey Jim,

Welcome to our forum.

Are you currently mowing lawns? If so, can you measure the area you are mowing? Then divide that by the amount you are charging and you will get a rate per sq ft.

If you do this for all the lawns you are mowing, you can average out the amount you are charging to get a better idea what you should be charging new customers.

Does this help?

JMBonesteel
01-26-2012, 10:07 PM
Hi Steve,

At the church, its depend on paying issue. Sometime they give me alot, other times they give me small. But other members of the church that I did, I started out at $13.75 an hours. 3 lawns take me 3 hours, 3 take me 1 and half hours, and 1 take me 4 hours. Some members gave me more then what I charge them while other just pay actual amount. Now, they are spreading words out for me. I get a called from some businesses ppl asking about a bid so they can look at it. They also said they dont want the hours, they wanted in CENTS. lol I am beaten my brain out trying to figure it out.

Jimbo

Hey Jim,

Welcome to our forum.